Skip navigation
The Australian National University

Visiting fellows

The School of Philosophy has a number of Visiting Fellows and Program Visitors from interstate and overseas each year. These visitors stay for periods which range from a few weeks to a year. Many distinguished philosophers have been Visiting Fellows in Philosophy over the years.

Information on becoming a visitor with the School of Philosophy is available here.

If you wish to apply for a Visiting Fellowship in Philosophy you should contact the Research School of Social Sciences


Visiting Fellows and Program Visitors in 2017

RSSS Visiting Fellows

Hallie Liberto (University of Connecticut)
Feb - Apr 2017

Declan Smithies (Ohio State University)
Apr - Jun 2017

Gillian Russell (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
Jun - Jul 2017

Amy Kind (Claremont McKenna)
Jul-Aug 2017

Connie Rosati (University of Arizona)
Jun - Jul 2017

Cailin O'Connor (University of California, Irvine)
Jul - Aug 2017

Andrew Egan (Rutgers University)
Jul - Aug 2017

Anne Barnhill (University of Pennsylvania)
Jul - Aug 2017

Juan Comesana (University of Arizona)
Jul 2017

Carolina Sartorio (University of Arizona)
Jul 2017

David Sobel (Syracuse University)
Jun - Aug 2017

Janice Dowell (Syracuse University)
Jun - Aug 2017

Miriam Schoenfield (University of Texas)
Jul - Aug 2017

Helen Frowe (University of Stockholm)
Oct - Nov 2017


Program Visitors

Simon Cotton
Jan - Jul 2017

Veronique Zanetti (Bielefeld University)
Jan - Mar 2017

Anne Schwenkenbecher (Bielefeld University)
Jan - Mar 2017

Hartmut Kliemt (Frankfurt School of Finance and Management)
Jan - Feb 2017

Marlies Ahlert (Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg)
Jan - Feb 2017

Camilla Colombo (London School of Economics)
Jan - Jul 2017

Russell Gray (University of Auckland)
Jan - Feb 2017

David Kinney (London School of Economics)
Jan 2017

Hamed Bikaraan Behesht (Iranian Institute of Philosophy)
Apr - Sep 2017

Hasan Khudairi
Feb - May 2017

Niels Gottschalk-Mazouz (University of Bayreuth)
Feb - Apr 2017

Nadia Mazouz (ETH Zurich)
Feb - Apr 2017

Serene Khader (Brooklyn College)
Feb - Mar 2017 & Apr - Jun 2017

Stephanie Collins (University of Manchester)
Mar 2017

Suzy Killmister (University of Connecticut)
April 2017

Julia Driver (Washington University in St. Louis) Harsanyi Fellow 2017
Jun - Jul 2017

Aron Vallinder (London School of Economics)
Jul - Aug 2017

Marc Fleurbaey (Princeton University) Passmore Lecturer 2017
Jul - Aug 2017

Geoff Sayre-McCord (University of North Carolina)
Jul - Aug 2017

Wlodek Rabinowicz (Lund University)
Jul - Aug 2017

Martin Davies (University of Oxford)
Jul - Aug 2017

Matthew Kopec (Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics)
Oct 2016 - Sep 2017

Anne Phillips (London School of Economics)
Feb 2018


Previous Visiting Fellows



PhD Scholars

Man Zhao
Sep 2015 - Sep 2017


Continuing Program Visitors

Carleton (Bruin) Christensen (ANU)
Jan - Dec

Peter Grundy (ANU)
Jan - Dec

Peter Roeper (ANU)
Jan - Dec

Thomas Mautner (ANU)
Jan - Dec

Peter Eldridge Smith (ANU)
Jan - Dec

Winifred Lamb (ANU)
Jan - Dec

Ryan Young (ANU)
Jan - Dec

Lea Ypi (LSE)
Jan - Dec

Drew Ninnis
Jan - Dec 2016

Updated: 6 November 2017/ Responsible Officer:  Head of School / Page Contact:  Web Publisher